The CMR is the administrative host of five NRF Chairs. The South African Research Chairs Initiative (SARChI) was established in 2006 by the Department of Science and Technology (DST) and the National Research Foundation (NRF). It is designed to attract and retain excellence in research and innovation at South African public universities through the establishment of Research Chairs at public universities in South Africa with a long-term investment trajectory of up to fifteen years. The main goal of the Research Chairs initiative is to strengthen and improve research and innovation capacity of public universities for producing high quality postgraduate students and research and innovation outputs. 

The 2021 CMR Research Symposium showcased the work of the five SARChI holders (as well as their students) it is hostingThese include the Shallow Water Ecosystems chair Prof Janine Adams, the Marine Spatial Planning chair Prof Mandy Lombard, the Law of the Sea and Development in Africa chair Prof Patrick Vrancken, the Ocean Science and Marine Food Security chair Prof Mike Roberts and the Ocean Cultures and Heritage chair Prof Rose Boswell.

This event took place via Zoom on 3 November, with 64 individuals in attendence.

The event booklet with the programme, and presentation and speaker details, is available for download from the sidebar. 

Click here to view the video recording of this event.

Files you can download