Change the world

Institute for Coastal and Marine Research


CMR Research Team
Derek Du Preez
Dr Derek Du Preez
Position: Acting Director of School of Environmental Sciences
Department: Botany
Room: 12 01 07
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2721
Fax: 27 41 583 2317
Email: Derek.DuPreez@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Bsc, BSc Hons, MSc, PhD
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/DerekDuPreez/

Ronel Nel
Prof Ronel Nel
Position: Associate Professor
Department: Zoology
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2024
Fax: 27 41 5042317
Email: ronel.nel@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD

Anton Cloete
Mr Anton Cloete
Position: Head of Research Dive Unit
Department: Coastal and Marine Research Unit
Room: 12 OG 21
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 2747
Email: anton.cloete@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc

Prof Janine Adams
Prof Janine Adams
Position: Full Professor - Director of the Institute for Coastal and Marine Research
Department: Botany
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2429
Fax: 27 41 583 2317
Email: Janine.Adams@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/JanineAdams/

Prof Guy Bate
Prof Guy Bate
Position: Emeritus Professor and Research Associate
Department: Botany
Location: South Campus
Email: Guy.Bate@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD

Dr Thomas G Bornman
Dr Thomas G Bornman
Position: Estuarine and Coastal Wetland Ecologist
Department: Botany
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2747
Fax: 27 41 583 2317
Email: tommy@saeon.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc, BSc (Hons), MSc, PhD (UPE)

Prof Eileen Campbell
Prof Eileen Campbell
Position: Associate Professor - Extended Program Coordinator
Department: Botany
Room: 12 -1 08
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 041 5042329
Fax: 041-5832317
Email: Eileen.Campbell@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/EileenCampbell/

Dr Vic Cockcroft
Dr Vic Cockcroft
Position: Centre for Dolphin Studies, Plettenberg Bay
Department: Zoology
Location: Off-campus
Phone: 27 44 5336185
Fax: 27 44 5336185
Email: research@dolphinstudies.co.za
Qualifications: PhD

Maƫlle Connan
Dr Maëlle Connan
Position: Postdoctoral Fellow
Department: Zoology
Room: R0174
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 (0)41 504 2137
Fax: +27 (0)41 504 2317
Email: maelle.connan@gmail.com
Qualifications: PhD

Dr Phumelele Gama
Dr Phumelele Gama
Position: HOD of the Botany Department
Department: Botany
Room: BLD-12 0103
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2779
Fax: 27 41 583 2317
Email: Phumelele.Gama@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/PhumeleleGama/

Dr Wayne Goschen
Dr Wayne Goschen
Position: SAEON Elwandle Node and CMR Research Associate
Department: Coastal and Marine Research Unit
Location: Off-campus
Phone: 021-4023630
Fax: 021-4023674
Email: wayne@saeon.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc Hon (UN), MSc (UPE, UCT), PhD (UPE)

Dr Linda Harris
Dr Linda Harris
Position: Postdoctoral Fellow
Department: Zoology
Room: 12 0G 51
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 (0)41 5044281
Fax: +27 (0)41 5042317
Email: harris.linda.r@gmail.com
Qualifications: PhD
My site: http://connect.nmmu.ac.za/members/LHarris

Juliet Hermes
Juliet Hermes
Department: Coastal and Marine Research Unit
Location: South Campus

Anton McLachlan
Anton McLachlan
Department: Zoology
Location: South Campus

Lorien Pichegru
Dr Lorien Pichegru
Position: Research Fellow
Department: Coastal and Marine Research Unit
Room: Room 174
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 78 844 38 63
Fax: +27 41 504 2317
Email: lorienp@hotmail.com
Qualifications: PhD
My site: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Lorien_Pichegru

Dr Pierre Pistorius
Dr Pierre Pistorius
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Zoology
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2710
Fax: 27 41 504 2317
Email: pierre.pistorius@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD

Dr Gletwyn Rubidge
Dr Gletwyn Rubidge
Position: Lecturer in Analytical Chemistry
Department: Chemistry
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3176
Fax: 27 41 504 3694
Email: gletwyn.rubidge@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: DTech (Chemistry) (P E Technikon)
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/GletwynRubidge/

Denise M Schael
Dr Denise Schael
Position: Acting Director: RCD
Department: Research Capacity Development
Room: 1314
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041-504-2538
Email: Denise.Schael@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD - Zoology

Eckart Schumann
Eckart Schumann
Department: Geosciences
Location: South Campus
Email: eckarts@mweb.co.za

Dr Malcolm Smale
Dr Malcolm Smale
Department: Zoology
Location: Off-campus
Email: msmale@mandela.ac.za

Paul-Pierre Steyn
Dr Paul-Pierre Steyn
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Botany
Room: 120106
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 4873
Fax: +27 (0)41-583 2317
Email: paul.steyn@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD

Prof Nadine Strydom
Prof Nadine Strydom
Position: Professor
Department: Zoology
Room: 0151
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2041
Fax: 27 41 504 2317
Email: nadine.strydom@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
My site: https://www.facebook.com/pages/category/College---University/Nelson-Mandela-University-Fish-Research-2187553098124151/

Prof Patrick Vrancken
Prof Patrick Vrancken
Position: Incumbent of the South African Research Chair in the Law of the Sea and Development in Africa
Department: Public Law
Room: Room 04 Law Services Building
Location: Bird Street Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2200
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: Patrick.Vrancken@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: LED (Brussels) LLM LLD (Cape Town)
My site: http://lawofthesea.nmmu.ac.za