Change the world

Institute for Coastal and Marine Research

South Africa currently has 12 EBSAs solely within its national jurisdiction (listed in blue), shares 5 transboundary EBSAs with other countries (listed in green), and has 3 new proposed EBSAs (listed in gold). Although only some of these fall within the BCLME area, South Africa has chosen to include all of their national EBSAs in this review process (i.e., excluding those shared with other countries outside of the BCLME, or that extend into the high seas). 


Peruse the interactive map and select an EBSA from the list below to view more information about the area, or view the EBSA status assessment and proposed management. See also progress on Marine Protected Areas in South Africa


  1. Benguela Upwelling System
  2. Orange Seamount and Canyon Complex (Orange Shelf Edge)
  3. Orange Cone
  4. Namaqua Fossil Forest
  5. Childs Bank
  6. Namaqua Coastal Area
  7. Cape Canyon and Associated Islands, Bays and Lagoon (Cape Canyon and Surrounds)
  8. Cape Point to Cape Agulhas
  9. Protea Seamount Cluster
  10. Browns Bank
  11. Agulhas Bank Nursery Area
  12. Mallory Escarpment and Trough Complex (Agulhas Slope and Seamounts)
  13. Shackleton Seamount Complex (Agulhas Slope and Seamounts)
  14. Tsitsikamma-Robberg
  15. Secret Reef, Kingklip Ridge and Kingklip Koppies (Offshore of Port Elizabeth)
  16. Algoa to Amathole (Offshore of Port Elizabeth)
  17. Protea Banks and Sardine Route
  18. KwaZulu-Natal Bight and uThukela River (Natal Bight)
  19. Delagoa Shelf Edge, Canyons and Slope
  20. Prince Edward Islands, Del Cano Rise and Crozet Islands