Namibia currently has 2 EBSAs solely within its national jurisdiction (listed in blue), shares 4 transboundary EBSAs with other countries/areas beyond national jurisdiction (listed in green), and has 2 new proposed EBSAs (listed in gold).


  • Peruse the interactive map and select an EBSA from the list below to view more information about the area. 
  • Download the descriptions from the right panel. All descriptions have been compiled into a single pdf document and into a zip file of the individual descriptions; individual descriptions can also be downloaded separately from each EBSA's page below. The full technical report for Namibia (including EBSA descriptions, motivations, status assessment and managament recommendations) is also available from the right panel. See the Project Report page for all available report downloads from the EBSA Workstream.
  • A shapefile of Namibia's EBSAs is available from the right panel. For more shapefiles and kmz files, see the MARISMA Spatial Data Portal
  • View also the EBSA status assessment and proposed management in Namibia.


  1. Namibe (Kunene-Tigres)
  2. Cape Fria
  3. Walvis Ridge Namibia
  4. Namib Flyway
  5. Namibian Islands
  6. Orange Seamount and Canyon Complex (Orange Shelf Edge)
  7. Orange Cone
  8. Benguela Upwelling System