Access the National Coastal and Marine Spatial Biodiversity Plan Home page

Access the National Coastal and Marine Spatial Biodiversity Plan Version 1.2, including the National Coastal and Marine Map of Critical Biodiversity Areas and Ecological Support Areas (CBA Map) and sea-use guidelines.

Access the Information Sharing Session and Launch of the National Coastal and Marine Biodiversity Plan Process (22 October 2020 meeting), including the videos, presentations and feedback from that meeting

Access various additional resources related to the National Coastal and Marine Spatial Biodiversity Plan and marine spatial planning



South Africa currently has 12 EBSAs solely within its national jurisdiction (listed in blue), shares 8 transboundary EBSAs with other countries and/or the high seas (listed in green), and has 3 new proposed EBSAs (listed in gold). Although only some of these fall within the BCLME area, South Africa has chosen to include all of their national EBSAs in this review process. However, those EBSAs that are shared with other countries outside of the BCLME, or that extend into the high seas were excluded from the review (indicated with an asterisk) because these EBSAs were considered beyond the scope of the MARISMA Project. Even though the EBSA delineation and description were not revised, the status assessment and management recommendations are being undertaken for the South African portion of Delagoa Shelf Edge, Canyons and Slope.


  • Peruse the interactive map and select an EBSA from the list below to view more information about the area
  • Download the descriptions from the right panel. All descriptions have been compiled into a single pdf document and into a zip file of the individual descriptions; individual descriptions can also be downloaded separately from each EBSA's page below. The full technical report for South Africa (including EBSA descriptions, motivations, status assessment and managament recommendations) is also available from the right panel. See the Project Report page for all available report downloads from the EBSA Workstream.
  • A shapefile of South Africa's EBSAs is available from the right panel. For more shapefiles and kmz files, see the MARISMA Spatial Data Portal
  • View progress on the EBSA status assessment and proposed managementon Marine Protected Areas in South Africa and on Marine Spatial Planning in South Africa.


  1. Benguela Upwelling System*
  2. Orange Seamount and Canyon Complex (Orange Shelf Edge)
  3. Orange Cone
  4. Namaqua Fossil Forest
  5. Childs Bank and Shelf Edge (Childs Bank)
  6. Namaqua Coastal Area
  7. Cape Canyon and Associated Islands, Bays and Lagoon (Cape Canyon and Surrounds)
  8. Seas of Good Hope
  9. Protea Seamount Cluster
  10. Browns Bank
  11. Agulhas Bank Nursery Area
  12. Mallory Escarpment and Trough Complex (Agulhas Slope and Seamounts)
  13. Shackleton Seamount Complex (Agulhas Slope and Seamounts)
  14. Tsitsikamma-Robberg
  15. Kingklip Corals (Offshore of Port Elizabeth)
  16. Algoa to Amathole (Offshore of Port Elizabeth)
  17. Protea Banks and Sardine Route
  18. KwaZulu-Natal Bight and uThukela River (Natal Bight)
  19. Delagoa Shelf Edge, Canyons and Slope*
  20. Prince Edward Islands, Del Cano Rise and Crozet Islands*
  21. Mozambique Channel*
  22. Subtropical Convergence Zone (STCZ)*
  23. Agulhas Front*